top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureElizabeth Bell

Me and my love of horror

Updated: Feb 17, 2021



Introduction

“The love of horror is the easiest way to realize your life ain't so bad.”

I didn't have a bad childhood. My childhood was actually pretty darned good. Save for the fact I couldn't hear. Now for a child that's not always a big deal. I mean if you don't have it you can't miss it right? I learned to read lips and I spoke (Though I sounded like the worlds worst lisper ).

So if I didn't know what I was missing what did I do about it? There was no CC back in the 80's. Just sign language ( which I didn't know and didn't realize I was supposed to.)

So I spent a lot of time by myself. Drawing, painting, sculpting and of course writing because reading filled much of my life.

That and silent movies. I was crazy about the black and white monster movies. I was also crazy about Charlie Chaplin. What a genius!

I decided as a child as long as the wolf man wasn't munching on me my life was good. The wolf man has never shown up so my life is still pretty good. I had surgery to correct what could be corrected with my hearing. I still mute the tv sometimes and CC is ALWAYS on in my house.

When depression strike I watch the goriest slasher film I can find. It always makes me feel better.

To quote 'Stephen King' want to scare you. If I can't I want to at least disturb you. If your pretty hardy maybe I can make you queasy. No matter what though I just want you to enjoy what you read.

Currently I'm reading The Gnelfs which by God as far as I'm concerned would have made an awesome movie.

I would love to know your thoughts on horror.





14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page